The first observation of a binary black hole merger: Status and future prospects

Gravitational wave detectors have observed, for the first time, the merger of two black holes. This conference will discuss the most recent developments in the searches for these signals, and the implications for astrophysics and fundamental physics.

The black hole merger as seen by the LIGO detectors

The Binary Black Hole merger as seen by the LIGO detectors
© The LIGO and Virgo Collaborations, Physical Review Letters 116, 061102 (2016)


We are happy to announce that we can now offer a limited number of spots for students at a reduced registration fees of 280 Euros.  The limited number of spots will be available on a first-come first-served basis. 

  • Dates: May 23-26, 2016
  • The conference fees, including a daily lunch buffet and coffee breaks, will be €440.
  • Venue: The Crowne Plaza Hotel, Hinueber Strasse 6, 30175 Hannover, Germany

Invited Speakers

  • Duncan Brown (Syracuse University, USA)
  • Benno Willke (AEI Hannover, Germany)
  • Ilya Mandel (University of Birmingham, UK)
  • Tomasz Bulik (University of Warsaw, Poland)
  • Collin Capano (AEI Hannover, Germany)
  • Samaya Nissanke (Radboud University, Netherlands)
  • Andreas von Kienlin (MPE Garching, Germany)
  • Alessandra Buonanno (AEI Potsdam, Germany)
  • Mark Hannam (Cardiff University, UK)
  • Tsvi Piran (Racah Institute of Physics, Israel)
  • Masaru Shibata (Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics, Japan)
  • Chris van den Broeck (Nikhef - Amsterdam, Netherlands)
  • Enrico Barausse (Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris, France)
  • Luc Blanchet (Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris, France)
  • Thibault Damour (IHES, France)
  • Bernard Schutz (Cardiff University, UK)


Code of Conduct for Participants


Scientific Organizing Committee:

  • Badri Krishnan (Chair)
    (AEI-Hannover, Germany)
  • Maria Alessandra Papa
    (AEI-Hannover, Germany)
  • Reinhard Prix
    (AEI-Hannover, Germany
  • Stanislav Babak
    (AEI-Potsdam, Germany)
  • Curt Cutler
  • Luis Lehner
    (Perimeter Institute, Canada)
  • Nils Andersson
    (Univ. of Southampton, UK)
  • Clifford Will
    (Univ. of Florida, USA)
  • Ingrid Stairs
    (Univ. of British Columbia, Canada)


Local Organizing Committee:

  • Carsten Aulbert
  • Henning Fehrmann
  • Marco Gajardo
  • Badri Krishnan
  • Karin Salatti-Tara